life

Naima are you living just for the weekend ?

Are You Living Just for the Weekend?

With a 9-5 job, it can be easy to get discouraged by the amount of hours left in the day when you’re not at work…
This post comes from our Blog Intern, Emily.
Let’s be real here, we’re all living for the weekend.
The weeks seem to fly by. Five whole days start and finish, usually too quickly for me to be okay with it. Is this life now? Is this what being an adult is? Where does the time go?!
I ask myself these questions all the time…
But why? I love my life. I’m a happy person. I’m extremely grateful for what I have in life and the lifestyle that I get to live. But for some reason, it’s not enough. I’m always left feeling like I didn’t accomplish enough or that the weekend disappears so quickly. Making it hard for me to have fun, relax, and get all my shit done in two days… And I don’t have many of the tasks that my co-workers and managers do!
Is it because I’m lazy? Is it because I constantly want to make myself a better person? Is it because I think I don’t have enough time for anything else?
Image. Double tap this image to view it full screen. Double tap and hold to show sharing options.
This is what my routine on 3-4 weekdays looks like as of late:

Wake up too late, rush to get ready. I’m desperate for coffee, only have time to make coffee, so I skip breakfast and head out for work.

Work a regular day, shoot, write, and sometimes work from home to finish little later into the evening.

Go home, take pants off immediately. Something too comfortable is usually on within 5 minutes of arriving home.

Throw myself on the couch and check in with texts and social media (this usually goes on way longer than it should. Instagram: you’re a freaking trap.)

When I’m being mindful and present, I’ll take some deep breaths and stretch, which improves everything, yet I don’t do it enough. On another note; why is it so hard to do things that are good for us?

Next, I turn some tunes on and get ready to cook. Some days I’ll have a glass of wine. This is usually how I unwind and get present. I get to be creative, listen to music, dance in the kitchen a little, and create something made with 100% love to nourish my body and mind.

Then, it’s on to the floor to eat (I really need a dinner table.) Every single night, I plop myself in front of my laptop on the coffee table for Netflix. And this is where it all starts. My mind goes a little like this: “Alright, I can finally sit down and enjoy my meal and be mindlessly entertained. Just one episode! Then I’ll clean up and maybe tidy the house or do some laundry, or call a family member.” BUT, all willpower goes out the window and two or three hours later, I’m like, WTF? It’s 10 pm? I have to clean up my dinner mess and go to bed!

 

imageRepeat.
A lot of my time feels wasted.
Many of my friends and people I work with go out almost every night. To work out, go to a yoga class, grab drinks with friends, dinner, or go to events happening around the city. I always wonder, “how do you do it?” I tell myself I’m too busy. But I’m not. I’ve always been a little more introverted and I’m definitely a homebody. I’m okay with staying in a lot, and unwinding in my own ways. So some of it is my nature, maybe? But I know I have better ways to unwind than to eat dinner and zombie out.
So, I’m on a mission to make a change. To get more out of my weeks, change my routine, and be better about my priorities and what I spend my time on.
I have a choice. I can be one of those people who is always doing something, who works out during the week, and tries new things. Here’s how I’m trying to get myself out of my current routine:
Image. Double tap this image to view it full screen. Double tap and hold to show sharing options.
Realize how many hours you actually do have left in the week. It’s around 50-70 if you work 40 hours a week and get 8 hours of sleep. That’s a lot! That’s so many hours I spend in front of a screen! I work in front of a computer screen all day, escape from it for 2 hours, and then return to a screen for the rest of the night. Yikes…
Prioritize. Get the “I’m too busy” out of your head. Because you’re not too busy. You just have something else you want to spend your time doing. And that’s okay. If you want to make time for something, it must be a priority.
Wake up earlier. This is one I know I can really benefit from. Just getting up one hour earlier will change everything. It would be nice to get some of the things I need to get done out of the way in the morning so that I can enjoy my evenings more.
Make lists. Write down what you’d like to accomplish during the week. Both fun and not so fun things.
Break the week up. For a few reasons. One, so you don’t go HAM on the weekends. I usually end up saving all the fun stuff I want to do for the weekends and saving all the productive stuff for the weekends. How the heck am I supposed to do it all? Simple answer: you’re not. Not everything can happen on the weekend. I need to start doing my laundry during the week. Make my lunches at night. I need to see friends, get out of the house. I need to run to the store. Take a yoga class. It’s better to spread everything out throughout your weeks, than in two very fast 48 hours.
Make time for yourself. Do something you love doing at least once a day. Go on a walk, take a bath, read a book, make something with your hands, get your nails done, have a good conversation, go see a show. When you do the things you love it’s hard not to feel good about where your time is being spent.
Slow down. Life already moves too fast. We rush all the time. The more we acknowledge that and tell ourselves “there’s not enough time; it goes so quickly, I don’t know where I’ll ever get the time”. Just stop, for an entire minute. One minute. No phone, no distractions. Just stay where you are for an entire minute. Breathe, look around, maybe close your eyes. You’ll realize that a minute is actually a pretty long time. It might be easier to make better use of those precious minutes!
Be gentle with yourself. Routines take some time. Getting into the flow of changing your lifestyle a little will probably take a few weeks for it to become normal. Enjoy the process and become aware of how you feel throughout the changes.
Image. Double tap this image to view it full screen. Double tap and hold to show sharing options.
Do you find yourself in a similar routine? How do you make the most out of your week so that you can enjoy your weekends?

Leave a Reply

